Salads!

17 Jul

Image

Happy Tuesday Everyone!

Today for lunch I created myself a masterpiece of a salad. It honestly was gorgeous, filled me up, and the best part? It came in at only 165 CALS!!!!! Ahhh! 🙂

So here is the deal on salads. Most people assume (especially when eating out) that they are doing their bodies a huge service by ordering a salad. 9 times out of 10 they are so so sadly mistaken.

Most salads you order in restaurants have some sort of protein. Thats fine, except most times its fried. A salad with fried chicken on it? Do you really think all that green is going to make up for those 2 fried chicken breasts?! No, it doesn’t. You might as well have ordered chicken strips!

The second no-no that restaurants do is add your dressing for you. Do you know how much Caesar Dressing is actually on that salad? No. What if the cook got a little dressing happy? A 2TBS serving of dressing weighing in at 200 calories can quickly become 4TBS and 400 calories. See where I’m going with this? ALWAYS ORDER DRESSING ON THE SIDE! That way you can control it.

Now I would like to talk you through the assemblage that was my lunch salad!

First I started with Romaine Lettuce. I know that its not as good as using spring mix, but it is much better then when I used to eat Iceberg. Then I added a handful of baby spinach. I’m not a fan of spinach salads, but adding it to the romaine is manageable. Then add any veg of your choice. For this salad I did tomatoes, cucumber, and red onion. I usually do bell pepper too, but sadly I had none. Next, feta cheese. I love this for salads because it is really low in calorie. I added an amount that equaled about 30 calories and it adds an amazing flavor. I also added kalamata olives. Lastly, the dressing. I am a firm believer that your salad dressing 1. Should not be cream based, and 2. Should be less than 100 calories for a 2 TBS serving. My balsamic dressing from Trader Joe’s is only 80 calories! YUM!

What types of salads do you guys make at home?

Where do you guys go out to eat and enjoy ordering a healthy salad?

Hope you guys are having a wonderful tuesday!

Leave a Reply

